long expected

JesusasHeis_4

Come Thou long expected Jesus
Born to set Thy people free;
From our fears and sins release us,
Let us find our rest in Thee,
Israel’s Strength and Consolation,
Hope of all the earth Thou art;
Dear Desire of every nation,
Joy of every longing heart.

~Charles Wesley, 1745

There are moments when the truth dawns in my heart. Like the sliver of morning light shining through a crack in the curtains, the light breaks through. It warms. It softens. It brings a lump that rises in my throat and chokes me up. Tears that sting my eyes.

Come Thou long expected Jesus.

We sang Charles Wesley’s famous hymn in church last Sunday. Singing that first line was one of those “light shining through a crack in the curtains” moments. Each word fell on my heart, heavy with longing. I’ve always liked that hymn, but singing it this time awakened something in me.

Come.

Not sometime. Not someday. Not when I’m perfect. Not when I’m ready. Not when I want You to. Not when the world says You should. Not when everything is right. Not just when the calendar says December 25th.

Come now, Jesus. Come into my cold and hardened heart. Into my broken world. Come like the sliver of light shining through a crack in the curtains. Piercing. Bright. Redeeming. Warming. Softening.

Thou long expected.

Long desired. Long needed. Long wanted. Long hoped for. Long expected. The words fall on my heart like pebbles on a glassy lake; they hit and sink in deep and cause ripples that grow bigger & bigger and wider & wider. Jesus you are long expected. The lump in my throat is big. I breath in deep. I sigh out long. Tears dance in my eyes. Yes. Long expected.

JESUS.

The One and Only. The hope of the world. Jesus as He is.

Not works.Or trying harder. Not fake gods. Or appearing right. Not false hope. Or empty words. Not legalism. Or social justice. Not light that is really darkness. Just Jesus.

Come Thou long expected Jesus.

Jesus as He is.

3 thoughts on “long expected

  1. WOW……………so powerful……………..God has given you such a rare gift of writing HIS true meaning. God bless you for sharing your gift of HIS gift to all of us.
    big hugs and lots of love to you…………Marcy McKay

Leave a Reply

