just Jesus

JesusasHeis_4

The longer I live the more I crave simplicity.

In my meal planning.
In my closet.
In my workout routine.
In my to do list.
In my relationships.
In my prayers.
In my walk with Jesus.

I don’t want a bunch of fillers. I don’t want fluff. I don’t want nonsense. I don’t want unnecessary steps (hello, recipes with numbered paragraphs *scream of horror*). I don’t want things I don’t use. I don’t want wasted time, wasted energy, wasted breath.

And so I just want Jesus.

Not what I’ve heard about Him. Not what others have told me to believe about Him. Not what the world says or doesn’t say about him. Not what I think I should know about Him. Not what I think He wants or doesn’t want from me.

Just Jesus.

Not lists. Or aimless prayers. Or half-hearted trying. Or wishes. Or frustration. Or wanting something more. Not a slanted view. Or giving up. Or inbetween. Or sort of. Not anything else. Or wasted time, wasted energy, wasted breath.

Just Jesus.

That is my prayer. That I would see Jesus as He is. Just Jesus. That I would experience Jesus as He is. Just Jesus. That I would know Jesus as He is. Just Jesus.

Nothing more. Nothing less.

******

More posts in this series:

Jesus as He is [Introduction]

Who Jesus is Not

One thought on “just Jesus

Leave a Reply

