sweet dreams:: bedroom redo

2013-08-02 09.05.54

I’ve been slowly working on redoing our bedroom on a budget.

Here’s what it looked like before:

I haven’t made any crazy changes, just subtle. It’s a little tricky renting because I really didn’t want to paint any walls just to have to repaint them whenever we move.

So I decided to paint everything else. Well, not everything. But I did paint several frames and a lamp stand and a canvas.

I bought new white sheets on sale, an inexpensive comforter and some mix-matched pillow cases at Target. Not pictured [because I was too lazy to retake the pics] are some new throw pillows that I got recently. Well, new to me – I ditched the Euro pillow, bought another mix-matched pillow case for the regular sized pillow, and a friend gave me a gorgeous teal, rectangular pillow to replace the rectangular gray one.  I still have the smallest of the gray pillows to replace…maybe white? Trying to decide. Side note: throw pillows are expensive. I mean, really??? You want $55 dollars for some material and stuffing? I’m laughing but then I’m not.

I bought the curtains at Wal-Mart for $10 a panel. My plan was to sew curtains. Then I remembered I’m me. And I don’t sew. At all.

The canvas I purchased on sale at Hobby Lobby along with some acrylic paint and foam brushes for $30 total. It’s my first attempt at wall art. And I kind of like it. It’s simple.

The white frames for our family gallery wall I got on clearance at Michael’s for $25 all together. They are gorgeous frames and I was in a little bit of shock at my good fortune.

I made a photo garland out of some twine I had, some mini clothe pins and Instagram prints from Mpix.com.

Behind the scenes I cleared out and purged and de-cluttered. When I walk into our room now I feel a sense of accomplishment and rest.

Cheers to sweet dreams! [Especially now that Baby Boy is back to waking up just once at night]

Leave a Reply

