when we met and fell in love

okcmemorial

It’s hard for me to believe that it’s been two years since Matt and I met for the first time.

These last two years have flown by…and, yet, they have been filled with a life time of sweet love, amazing adventures and wonderful memories. And to think that, Lord willing, we’re just at the beginning of our life together. My heart is filled to the brim.

Two years ago, I was standing in the airport nervously watching the arrivals screen, my phone and the doorway from the terminal in turn. (You can read more about how we came to be at the airport that day here.)

Would I recognize him? Would he recognize me? What if he walked past me and I didn’t know it? What if he wanted to walk past me without me knowing?

My stomach was a ball of knots. Little did I know it would be the last time I would ever feel so nervous about a guy. The last, glorious time. I hated that feeling.

And when Matt was finally walking towards me, not only did I know it was him, but all the tension that was built up inside of me melted completely away.

He was so handsome. And when he hugged me, I felt so “right” in his arms. I wasn’t sure in that moment if “he was the one.” But looking back I think I knew in the depths of my heart.

When you meet your soul mate, the one person that completes you, makes you whole…your heart knows, even if you don’t. Matt was and is that person for me…and I am so incredibly grateful that we met  that June day two years ago.

Baby,

It’s been quite the ride! And I’m nowhere near ready to get off…maybe in another 50-60 years 😉 I love you so, so much. My heart is overflowing with thankfulness to the Lord for bringing us together. I would  not be who I am without you. You are the best man I have ever known and the best daddy to our little boy. For the record, I’m glad you didn’t walk past me that day in the airport… I’m glad your heart knew I was the one just like mine knew you were the one.

You are my love for all of my life,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

