a shower and the final weeks

This past Saturday we celebrated our little boy. The shower was beautiful. Mom and Lid and Paula did a wonderful job making tons of amazing treats, decorating, planning & preparing.

And I was so blessed by everyone who came. It was so much fun to talk & catch up. And the gifts – I was blown away. So many special gifts that I can’t wait for Isaac to be able to use!

Speaking of which…this little boy is as active as ever. Moving and kicking and hiccuping, full of life & personality already. I’m closing in on the 38 weeks mark. Which seems like a big deal…but then I keep reminding myself that this little one might decide overdue is better.  This month’s full moon has come and gone with only sporadic contractions and nothing that I’ve gotten too excited about.

The night before my shower I woke up from the strongest contraction I’ve felt to date. Which I realize was probably a 1.1 on the Richter scale, but still… And my first thought was: I can’t go into labor. My shower is tomorrow. All that wonderful food! And then my next thought was: Oh, my goodness! I only have one real blanket for him. He can’t come! I need more blankets!

And then sleep again and the contractions petered out.

I thought I would be a lot more anxious in these final weeks. And I am a tad…just anxious to hold him and meet him and see his sweet face. But not really anxious. I know he will come at just the right time, on just the right day. That’s been my prayer.

I am filling these final weeks full with mini dates with my love, coffee with friends, writing, working through my “Before Baby” list, cleaning, cooking, reading & resting…bouncing on my exercise ball and walking whenever I get the chance.

20130127-192532.jpg20130127-192504.jpg

And thanks to my sister, my grandma and a wonderful friend, I now have plenty of blankets for this little boy.

Did you hear that, Isaac??? 🙂 You can come whenever you want now.

2 thoughts on “a shower and the final weeks

  1. Awww…..this post had me smiling all the way through. What a beautiful shower, and absolutely delicious looking food! I can see why you were concerned that if Issac came early you would miss out on the food. : ) And, you have dressed your baby bump adorably all the way through. I can’t wait to hear of his arrival and will continue to pray!

    Much love to you!

    • Aw, thanks so much, Chrissy! I’ve been thinking about you and praying for you! Got your email and will be responding soon. Sending love your way as well!

Leave a Reply

