God’s turf

No, this is not the obligatory post-election blog post. I don’t really talk politics on this blog. It’s not really my thing. It’s not my happy place.

I think there’s a whole lot of talk nowadays…and not a lot of true change. Adding more words to the millions of words is worthless. If people don’t want to hear, they won’t. If they don’t want to turn, they won’t.

There is  nothing I can say that will change a single mind or heart. That’s God’s turf. As much as I wish it was mine.

For the sake of my unborn son.

For the sake of any siblings who will follow him.

For the sake of generations yet to come who will know a country vastly different from the one I knew growing up.

But…I can’t change minds or hearts. So, what I write here on this topic is for me. Just me…talking to myself, preaching the truth once again to my soul. You can ignore the rest of this post if you want. You can forget I ever wrote it.

There’s just a few things that I have to type out…to calm my heart…to refocus my mind.

Oh, how my heart hurts that 50% of our great country sees no value in our quickly disappearing freedoms…sees no value in an unborn life, in a life nearing it’s end…sees no value in marriage between one man & one woman…sees no value in hard work…sees no value in the foundational principles that many thousands of men & women have given their lives to uphold.

I cried when the results came in. Not because “my side lost”…but because the darkness of this fallen world was brought just a little closer to home. Closer to the home into which my unborn son will soon be born. 

Yes, it’s closer now. Very real. Tangible. Reality that nearly takes my breath away. The truth that this world is dying. That we are dying. And there is nothing we can do to save ourselves.

In the darkness last night…after my tears had dried…I realized something. The darkness may be closer now, more real, more threatening than ever. This much is true.

But the darkness will never overcome the Light.

“The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.” (Jn. 1:5)

That is God’s promise to me…to anyone who is a true follower of Him. The darkness will not win. It may press in hard. It may cause difficulties and suffering and trials unlike any I’ve ever had to face. But it will not win. 

I also realized something else…it’s truth breaking fresh across my soul… Yes, this world is dying. We are dying. And there is nothing we can do to save ourselves.

But God… God “gave His one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in Him will not perish but have eternal life.” (Jn. 3:16)

This is truly God’s turf. He causes the light to triumph over the darkness. He causes the dying who believe on Him to have eternal life. Every time. No exceptions.

These are the truths that my heart is resting on today. 

The only thing left to say is: I love a good challenge. Bring it on. Throw what you will at me, darkness, God’s light in me will be the last thing you see.

2 thoughts on “God’s turf

Leave a Reply

