what we’re excited about the most

Lunch at The Wedge. I wasn’t sure if Matt would like it…if it would be too gourmet for him. But when his pizza came and he kissed his fingers like the French (it can work with Italian food, too) and dug in, I thought, he likes it. 

Haha. And, of course, I liked it, too. Liking the food was a given; I’d been there several times. But not with Matt yet. And I liked that even more.

Sharing something with someone you love is always better.

That topic came up again the other day on a picnic lunch at Myriad Gardens. How things are always better when you’re sharing them with someone you love.

Sitting on our picnic blanket, eating lunch, enjoying the breeze, relaxing… I asked Matt:

“What are you excited about the most? When it comes to moving overseas?”

He thought for a second, answered:

“I’m looking forward to the travel, seeing things I’ve never seen…and seeing them with you. I was always alone before. Being able to have you with me is a dream come true.”

I smiled. His words deeply touched my heart. I felt the same way. I remember standing in a piazza in one of the Tuscan towns – Sienna??? – looking up at the stars and thinking the very same thing. Granted I was only 15 years old…but even then I couldn’t help but think how wonderful it would be to share something so amazing with someone I loved.

I took my own question a little further, really thought. I looked out across the park for a moment.

“I am excited about it being just us, too. Just you and me together. I’m looking forward to being able to focus on the things that are really important. I’m looking forward to simplifying. Being rid of stuff and things and so much that claims my time and attention that really shouldn’t. I’m looking forward to reflecting more…thinking…writing…being. Getting down to what really matters; gaining a fresh perspective.”

“Yes,” he said. “And I’m looking forward to being free.”

That word sums it up for us both I think.

Free. 

Free to determine our path. Free to walk it or run it. Free to go and do or stay and be.

Free.

That’s what we’re looking forward to the most.

Leave a Reply

