the date is set

We’re moving out of our house in 22 days.

Which may seem like a lot, but it’s not. Which may seem like a little, but it’s not. It’s just 22 days. Staring me in the face. Begging me to get my act together about this packing thing.

Organizing is my thing. If you haven’t noticed. I organize my organization. I make lists of my to do lists. My act is together, thank you very much.

Except for when it’s not. Like today. I need to purge. I need to pack. I need to plan. And I am energy-less. I am inspiration-less. I am motivation-less. I am less.

But the date is set and I have to get moving. Our next big adventure – moving to another country – is right around the corner. And I am so excited and so thrilled. But just a little overwhelmed.

My first steps to getting my act together generally look like this:

1 *Drumroll* Make a list. Of everything. Every little thing that is clogging up my brain. Put it down on paper. Where I can see it to deal with it. My brain can be a scary, crazy, wild place. Paper is much cleaner and easier to work with.

2 Prioritize the list. Decide what needs to be done first, most. Usually I break the list up by month, by week, by day first and then prioritize my heart out.

3 Break the list down by time slots. Once I have the “today” list, I assign a time to each task. Or at least designate what will get done in the morning and what will get done in the afternoon and evening. Sometimes it takes a specific time: 12:05pm make a list of things to purge tonight, etc. I make sure to allow for unforseen slow downs.

4 Check the list off. And celebrate each check mark. With a coffee break or a FB break or…just a break. That’s all I need.

5 Transfer everything that didn’t get done “today” to “tomorrow.” Work hard so that the transfer list is as short as possible.

[This was one of my “breaks” this week: a date with my man and a pomegranate margarita…that was larger than I thought it would be. No worries, Matt helped me finish it]

Question: What’s one step you take to “get it together”? And what’s one way you like to take a break?

One thought on “the date is set

Leave a Reply

