making travel a priority

Matamanoa Island | Fiji

It’s a given that everyone has different priorities in life.

Matt and I have made travel a priority. Travel to us means: experiencing other cultures, trying new things, stepping outside our comfort zones and risking the accepted for the unexpected.

The other day I stumbled across a blog post by Jeff Goins titled “3 Reasons to Travel While You’re Young.” And it resonated with my heart.

For obvious reasons (like the fact we’re moving to Germany in June),  I wanted to stand up and cheer.

Yes! Yes! Yes! Travel while you’re young. And travel while you’re old. But – whatever you do – travel. I couldn’t agree more. It’s all about priorities really.

For us, seeing the world is more important than: buying a house, having a regular (as in 8-5pm, 5 day a week) job, staying in an established community and keeping a normal life routine.

I’m not saying those things aren’t important. They’re just not as important to us at this time in our lives. They might not ever be.

I am so grateful that I grew up travelling. It instilled in me a love for the unknown, a desire for the open road and open sky, a longing for fresh experiences, different cultures, new horizons. And I am so grateful I married a man who loves to travel, too.

In fact, I’ve traveled more since Matt and I met then I have in a long, long time.

Together we’ve experienced:

– Seattle
– the Olympic Mountains
– the Grand Tetons
– St. Louis
– Chicago
– parts of Mississippi
– Inlet Beach, FL
– Fiji
– New Zealand
– Estes Park, CO

Just in the past twelve months. That kind of boggles my mind. Because when January 1, 2011 dawned I didn’t have the faintest idea I would be travelling at all. Definitely not as much as we have. Especially not with the love of my life.

Matt and I have made travel a priority. Together we will travel while we’re young (and most likely while we’re old). Check out our list of all the places we want to see and do.

Question: Do you like to travel? Where would you rate it on your list of priorities? Why?

Leave a Reply

