fear

It would make sense that leaving family, friends, jobs and country to move across the world would bring with it some fears. Leaving the familiar for the not-so-familiar. Stepping into the great unknown. Taking a risk on a dream. Doing something out of the ordinary, something rather unexpected.

Thoughts come like…

– will we get everything done before June 24th?
– will we pack enough (of the right things)?
– will we pack too much (of the wrong things)?
– will we find a good church over there?

But, truly, those can’t be classified as fears. Concerns? Maybe, yes. And I know from past experience that even “concern” is too strong a word. Those things will all sort themselves out and probably end up going better than I could have expected.

Truth be told, I don’t have any real fears. None at all. And I know – this, too, from past experience – that absence of fear (unrest, anxiety) typically goes hand in hand with the peace & knowledge that I’m in the center of God’s will. We’re in the center of God’s will.

It’s how I knew that Matt was the one I wanted to spend the rest of my life with. Some may say that three months wasn’t enough to know that…but the absence of fear, the peace and knowledge that I was in the center of God’s will…that was enough to know.

The only real fear I have is that something or someone will try to stand in the way of our dream. Apart from the Lord re-directing our steps, I don’t want anything to do that. Or anyone. Including us.

“Jesus did not call us to the static posture of intellectual assent; he did not die so that we could choose to agree to a statement of faith. He called us to follow, to experience life like never before, to share with others in the life of faith.” The Gospel According to Starbucks, Page 17.

Just some thoughts swirling around in my head today…

—-

We had lunch at our favorite spot – sitting on the bench by the fountain. It was beautiful out today.

Leave a Reply

