my “10 things”

A couple of years ago when Lydia and I were both going through rough, stressful times in life (note: having a sister to share those times with saved my life), we came up with the “10 Things” idea.

Or Lydia came up with it. I can’t really remember, but I’ll give her credit anyway 😉

“10 Things” worked like this: once a week or sometimes multiple times a week (depending on the level of “rough and stressful), we would email each other 10 things we were thankful for that day.

Let me tell you, sometimes (read: most times) it was work. But work in a good way.

It stretched us.
It refocused us.
It encouraged us.
It blessed us.

And it got us through those rough, stressful times.

I remembered the “10 Things” on my drive to work this morning. It brought a smile to my face. It wasn’t just a good idea for that time in our lives. It’s a good idea for anytime in life. The fact is, I always have 10 things to be thankful for. Actually 10,000 would be more like it.

But since it would take a really long time to list 10,000, I thought I would list the top 10:

1. The weekend is here
2. The sun came out today
3. Lunch (& Anthropology) with a friend
4. One week until COLORADO
5. Rain last night
6. My wonderful husband
7. Isaiah 33:21
8. A good night’s sleep
9. Adventure on the horizon
10. Pinterest for menu planning (Best thing EVER.)

What are your 10 things?

2 thoughts on “my “10 things”

  1. I LOVE this idea! It is so true that our eyes are so easily clouded by the hard things in life and it’s easy to miss the blessings. : )

Leave a Reply

