the quest

To eat better.

To exercise more.

To read more.

To write more.

To be more.

It never, ever stops. And it’s never, ever enough. No one creates arbitrary standards for me to meet. I create them for myself and then beat myself up when I don’t meet them.

I’ve got to get a grip on reality and let go. 

Of course I want to eat better, exercise more, read more, write more and be more. And there’s nothing wrong with those things. They’re good things…just not good enough to deserve my heart & soul devotion.

Spending time with Jesus.

Loving Matt.

Reaching out to others.

These are the things that matter most. Truly. They started out at the top of my list this year and I need to keep them there. The rest will follow. Never fear.

The quest never, ever stops. But thankfully I can. I can stop, refocus, recharge and remember… What’s at the top of my list? What really matters?

And the One who really matters is much kinder to me than I am to myself. No arbitrary standards there. Thank you, Jesus.

Leave a Reply

