home sweet home

We decided to build a gingerbread house. And I’m so glad we did. I think it turned out beautifully – a true custom home 😉



(The beginning stages of construction)


(Don’t let this picture fool you – Matt did all the heavy lifting 😉 )



(The finishing touches…and Matt’s “gingerbread alien”)



(Complete and ready for move in. Home sweet home)

♥♥♥♥♥

One of the great things about celebrating our first Christmas together has been the melding of old and new traditions. I have pinned so many ideas on Pinterest and wanted to try a few. I’ve tried to make the ideas reflect “us” and also use things I had around the house.

One of the ideas I tried was a homemade Advent calendar. I adapted it a little so I could use resources I had on hand. It turned out very close to what I had envisioned.

Inside each folded slip of paper I wrote a different way to celebrate Christmas (read Luke 2, slow dance to Christmas music, make homemade marshmallows, etc).  We’re like little kids again, excited to open one each day 🙂

♥♥♥♥♥

And I have been baking my heart out. I love it.


(More sugar cookies)



(Phone pics [clockwise from top left]: my new Kitchen-Aid mixer [that I L.O.V.E.], marshmallows I finished last night, peanut butter bars and apple dumplings)



(More phone pics from our triple date last Friday night. We went to the Purple Bar at Nonna’s and then to a showing of A Territorial Christmas at the Pollard Theater in Guthrie.)


(Phone pic: girl time on a Tuesday evening. Fun and fellowship…and the time flew by too fast! I love you, girls!)

I’m so excited that next week is Christmas!

Which reminds me… I have a few more gifts to wrap and a few more recipes to make 😉

2 thoughts on “home sweet home

Leave a Reply

