so thankful


(Photo by Leslie Anderson)

This Thanksgiving I have so much to be thankful for. Which has been true every Thanksgiving, but this year I feel the burden of thankfulness in a special way.

This is my first Thanksgiving married to an amazing man. Never would I have imagined how much God would bless me through Matt. Truthfully, last Thanksgiving seems like a decade ago – and a world away. I really don’t know that person anymore, who I was then. How much God has brought me through! How He has changed me, shaped me, molded me – prepared me to be Matt’s wife!

I am thankful to have the privilege of standing by Matt’s side, of walking through life with him, loving him. Apart from God’s gift of salvation, this is the greatest gift I could ever receive. I will never take it for granted. I am so undeserving. So humbled. Matt is everything I ever prayed for in a husband and more. The “and more” is what blows me away. God didn’t have to go above and beyond but He did. I suppose in light of the salvation story that shouldn’t surprise me at all. God knows how to give good gifts to His children.

It hasn’t always been easy to believe this. There have been many times over the last few years that faith in God’s goodness seemed like an uphill battle and hope of fulfilled longings eluded me. When I couldn’t see, I learned to accept. When I realized that acceptance wasn’t enough, I willed myself to embrace – God’s will, His perfect plan for my life – to believe that God was good every moment, even in times of pain and difficulty.

I can’t say “then everything was perfect and I was happy and all was peace and light.” That just wouldn’t be true. Life didn’t magically become better – in some ways it became harder – but I could sense God’s blessing. I learned a lot about letting go, about forgiveness, about moving on and forgetting what was behind. I met Matt when the time was right. God knew what He was doing all along. Shock! 🙂

This Thanksgiving I am thankful for all the usual things: family, friends, home, food, clothing, warmth… But I am also thankful specifically for my husband and every moment, every step that God used to lead us together. It was worth it all.

I am also very thankful for my husband because Thanksgiving Day happens to be his birthday 🙂 I am so glad we get to spend it together – just the two of us – making memories to last a lifetime. I am making a feast both for breakfast and dinner. I bought a gigantic turkey and I’m trying my hand at egg custard pie. We’ll see how it goes! 😉

Happy Birthday, my love! You are my best friend and the love of my life. I can’t imagine living a day without you. You are God’s goodness to me in tangible form and I will be thankful every day I have breath.

Hannah

12 thoughts on “so thankful

  1. The words you have written, the depth of your thankfulness and your wedding picture: all BEAUTIFUL. Happy Birthday to Matt! : ) Can hardly wait to see more wedding photos!

Leave a Reply

